Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poorowner_gw

is frequent mowing good?

PoorOwner
15 years ago

Hi, I installed Perennial Rye and blue grass mix sod a few weeks ago. I found it is growing fairly fast, if I follow the 1/3 height of mowing rule I have to mow every 4 days, also to keep it looking tidy.

I cut at about 1.75" right now for several reasons due to sprinkler height and mechanical limits of my reel mower. I know 3-4" is best for water conservation but I prefer the turf look around 1.75-2". It gets about 30% longer in 4 days.. we have full sun daily.

My question would be if mowing that frequently good for the (new) grass? Maybe it will use energy to grow roots or tiller instead?

What I know about other plants is that the more foilage is energy to build more roots. So far so good it seems.

So, if I keep cutting the grass short and not letting it to become a big plant will I get good root system?

Comments (9)

• davidandkasie
    15 years ago

i have no experience with BG or perennial rye, but from my understanding they grow thickest(and therefore control weeds best) when let go long. maybe someone else will chip in and correct me, but i think you may need to let them go some.

BTW, you say you use a reel mower so did you have bermuda at one time? with full sun and alreeady having the reel mower bermuda would probably be my grass, or depending on how you look at it weed, of choice. it loves the sun, hates to be left long, and reel mowers are the prefered method of cutting it.

• soccer_dad
    15 years ago

Lots of KBG & PR are cut short. Look at all the ball fields and golf course fairways that are cut much shorter. Every 4 days sounds about right for good maintenance. Just follow the 1/3d rule and keep a sharp blade & bed. KBG & PR are not known for real deep root systems, but your cut height shouldn't be a major factor. Keep to the basics.

• ftwaynein
    15 years ago

Yes - Personally, I believe that frequent mowing is a good thing.