Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryanhaub

Weed Identification and Lawn Revival for a newbie - Richmond, VA

ryanhaub
10 years ago

My wife and I just purchased our first home. We have a large front and back yard that both need some TLC. The grass is thinning and the weeds are pretty bad. I am a complete newbie when it comes to lawn maintenance but I'm determined to revive my lawn.

We're on a very tight budget though, and I can't afford to have anything professionally done. I'm hoping the knowledgeable folks in this forum can help me out, so I can tackle this project myself!

There are 3 main weeds that I see showing up in the lawn...

Unknown Weed 1 that shows up in patches all over my back and front yard...
Unknown Weed 1 Closeup
Unknown Weed 1

Unknown Weed 2 that has taken over a small corner of my back yard...
Unknown Weed 2
Unknown Weed 2 Closeup

Unknown Weed 3 that is taking over the front yard. I think this is either crabgrass or bermuda grass, but I'm not sure...
Unknown Weed 3
Unknown Weed 3 (pic 2)

How do I kill these things and what would be the next steps to take to reclaim my lawn. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Comments (4)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago

We need to know where you live. Certain weeds can be eliminated from consideration depending on where you live.

Also can you retake all those pictures on a cloudy day or in the shade? The contrast is pretty high. And if you can take the close ups at 3 inches instead of 2 feet that would help.

• ryanhaub
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I put the location in the title, but I should have included it in the post itself. We live in Richmond, Virginia.

The closeups are at about 3 inches, not 2 feet. I tried to take one VERY close up (2 to 3 inches), and one from about 2-3 feet above. I think you should be able to see the picture a little better if you click the "100%" button in the upper left.

Thanks!

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago