Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mr_skippers

My new lawn is dying, please help!! (PICS)

mr.skippers
12 years ago

Hello All,

I am a new member to the site--it was actually recommended to me by a friend as a place for great advice... and I'm definitely going to need some!

So here we go... I bought my home about 2 years ago and the front lawn was basically one big weed sanctuary! Recently, I had the whole lawn torn up with a bobcat to landscape and lay about 20 yards of top soil. About 4 weeks ago I planted all new grass. The first few weeks the lawn was looking good however, about a week ago, I began to notice brown patches blossoming all over the lawn. Some of the grass was dying, but the weeds were beginning to thrive again. To remedy the situation, I began watering more frequently, but to no avail, the grass continued to turn yellow/brown. Additionally, I have been hand picking weeds on the lawn.

I am pretty new to lawn care, and I am not sure what to do. Should I aerate the soil? Perhaps the heavy bobcat packed the dirt in too much? Maybe a fungicide? Weed and feed?

A little background information about the lawn:

1. Where you live?

I live in upstate NY, Albany area. My lawn is about 2500 sq ft. The lawn is getting full sun all day except for under a rhododendron bush. By the way, the grass is thriving under the bush, which is strange...

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-Y4Cq-LJTjeA/TiCkBxPSk4I/AAAAAAAAAGU/2vVuWrKw1oU/s800/IMG_0664.JPG

2. What type of grass you have?

I planted two twenty lb. bags of Pennington’s Signature Sun and Shade Mix, for use in full sun to light shade.

The mix of grass in the bag is 34% shining star perennial ryegrass, 34% wind dance perennial ryegrass, 10% Kentucky bluegrass, 20% fescue, and a small percentage of others.

3. What products you have applied to your lawn, and how much? These include fertilizer, herbicide, fungicide, insecticide, etc.