Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
airbenji

Best Weed Killer for This Weed?

AirBenji
11 years ago

Hi Folks,

New member here looking for a bit of advice on these weeds. I know the quick answer is to pull them, which i have done, repeatedly. Unfortunately, they continue to come back and are spreading.

I am a complete novice when it comes to lawn care (just purchased my first home about 2 years ago) and I don't know where to begin in dealing with this problem. Can anyone identify this weed or point me in the direction of the best weed killer/preventer to use on it?

Thank you all very much for your help!

Comments (9)

• texas_weed
    11 years ago

Well what you have is Dandelions, one of the hardest of all the weeds to control.

Hand pulling is the best method, but seldom is done correctly. Dandelions have a very long brittle tap root that can reach 10 inches in depth. If one little piece is left in the ground it will regenerate and come back.

Second problem is the seeds from one single plant can travel for miles on the wind.

The only real effective post-mergent herbicide is Glyphosphate aka Round Up. Problem is RU is a non selective herbicide and will kill any grass or plant it comes into contact with.

A semi effective post-mergence herbicide is any containing 2-4D.

Best control is pre-emergence herbicides, but that will do nothing for existing plants.

• AirBenji
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Texas-weed! I had no idea that dandelion stems/leaves etc could be so prickely and spikey!

I did a bit more research and I had landed on bull thistle or spear thistle. My picture isn't a particularly good one above, but these leaves and the stems are pretty spikey and annoying! I will start pulling and think about some weed killer, but I don't want to harm the surrounding shrubs in the bed.

Thanks again for your help!

• dchall_san_antonio
    11 years ago