Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fusion916

Making lawn greener and thicker, growing new seeds, weeds, etc

Fusion916
10 years ago

Hi all

I'm new to lawn care as I just bought a house about a month ago, and I have been trying to revive this lawn into a nice, green, and thick lawn, as it was a precarious shape when I moved in.

I've been watering is every other day (im going to transition to 2 times a week), and put in two applications of fertilizer (2 weeks apart), and the lawn is looking MUCH better now, but still a long way to go before becoming really thick and really green.

My issues are both "brown/deadzones" that won't grow back. Random brown grass scattered throughout the lawn, and thin areas of the lawn. Here are some example pics (before I cut the grass):

{{gwi:109181}}

{{gwi:109182}}

{{gwi:109183}}

Some areas of the lawn that were completely dead (stayed completely brown no matter what) I dug up and replanted seeds a week ago. In the areas I planted seed, I have been watering every day, but the seeds won't plant and I don't see anything growing yet. Any ideas of what I am doing wrong? Along with digging it up and putting dirt on top, I put some topsoil on too. Here are the pics of these areas:

{{gwi:109184}}

{{gwi:109185}}

{{gwi:109186}}

And then I have the random areas of brown spots that won't grow back:

{{gwi:109187}}

In addition, I have this weed that keep growing randomly in spots, what do I need to use to get rid of these?

{{gwi:109188}}

Here are some pics of the lawn after cutting, lining, and cleaning:

{{gwi:109189}}

{{gwi:109190}}

{{gwi:109192}}

{{gwi:109195}}

Any tips please to making this lawn nice, thick, and completely green? And help growing my seeds?

Comments (7)

• uscjusto
    10 years ago

Where in sacramento did you buy?

Reseeding will be very difficult in this hot weather we are having. The seeds just won't germinate and it's hard to keep the soil moist enough.