Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csingh00

Advice for Newbie, growing grass in shade

csingh00
10 years ago

Hey Guys

New to the forum, and new to gardening. Bought a house last fall, where the backyard had not been maintained in years. My backyard is covered with trees (I've cut down 5 already), but it is still very shady(I barely get any sunlight at all). I have attached a picture. I am having that deck taken out and putting in a 25' x 25' patio. That will take up a lot of space, but I still need to grow grass in the rest of the area.

After doing some research, I have decided to buy Poa Supina, and give that a shot. From what I understand, that will be my best bet. Any advice on that?

Also, no one has tried to grow grass here in atleast 5 years. How should I go about doing this? Fertilize, tilling, then seeding in the fall? Also, I am in Northern Virginia.

Sorry if these questions sound dumb, I am a COMPLETE newb.

Thanks

Sunny

Comments (6)

• tiemco
    10 years ago