Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Contractors Mix Grass Seed Question

Posted by Jenjonn UT (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 19, 13 at 12:04

So I am new to the grass seed party. This being the first yard i have ever seeded myself. I ended up getting this contractors mix grass seed and planted it in the spring. The problem now is that there is a type of grass in this mix that grows much faster than the others. It seems that I have a good start on a great lawn but the one type of grass has it looking like a field in 3 days after mowing!
Can anyone help me out as to figure what type of grass it would be.I have attached the label from the bag. Also is there anything that can be done about it. The grass is a really wide bladed grass and has a thick stock of some sort that is really not what you would want in a lawn.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Contractors Mix Grass Seed Question

What you describe sounds like Yellow nutsedge? Try googling it and see if the images look familiar. Yellow Nutsedge has a thick, triangular stem. If the stem of your mysery grass has a triangular (3 sided) stem, then Nutsedge is a sure bet.

If it is a Sedge, you'd need a Sedge killer that ideally contains Sulfentrazone. However, keep in mind that it takes several years to completely rid your lawn of a sedge problem. Make sure to spray every year and the numbers should go down.

o