Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elbow_grease

In Need Of An Organic Lawn Care Schedule

elbow_grease
10 years ago

Hello everyone,
I have been browsing this forum for about 5 months now and would appreciate some advise on starting an organic lawn care program. This is my first post and it is going be be kinda lengthy. I apologize in advance for any ignorance towards this subject.

A little background about me -
I live about 1 hour south west of Chicago and recently have decided to go the organic route. One of the main reason is because of my 2 dogs, 1 has terrible environmental allergies and this time of year particularly he licks, and bites his paws uncontrollably. Other reasons are because my wife and I live in a fairly new neighborhood and whenever someone moves in they tend to stop by and almost always the lawn care conversation comes up. Soooo, I think if I can (with your help) come up with a program that I can implement I would be able to help my neighbors. Anyways that is my motivation. When I used a lawn care company (tru Green) my lawn did indeed look good, but I felt guilty and knew there was a better approach.

I have been reading a lot of post about the subject and the more I read the more I get stir crazy. I think I have a decent understanding of the terminology and process of organic lawn care. Formulating a plan that I can put on a calendar and follow is my goal.

Here is what I have done so far-
An aeration done in March and put down a couple applications of Milorganite fert. (now I know there is no need to aerate the lawn after reading many posts) I do have a sprinkler system, but haven�t used it very much this year due to a rainy season so far. I mow the grass at the highest height my mower will go. 3-1/2 to 4 inches. My biggest problem is weeds. Some clover, and other weeds I cannot identify.

Some info that may help you help me-