Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
autograff323

Using a professional?

autograff323
11 years ago

Hi I am really new to lawns I am so not a lazy guy. I had my lawn seeded with new soil and it came up great. I had a different company come in to do a maintenance they knew all the facts about the lawn they sent a person to apply fertilizer and a mild weed killer. Long story short killed the grass I hired them so I wouldn't kill the grass and they did. After waiting a while they slit seeded and overseeded it in june. It grew in very slow and kind of stopped growing at like have length. I did everything I could do like having the irrigation system on and continued to monitor it. Weeds did grow in also. My problem is now I have a lawn that's 60/40 weed to grass ratio and they say come this fall they are going to slit seed balding spots and overseed the whole lawn. And then come spring pre treat for weeds. Is this the right path or am I going in the wrong direction. All I want is a nice lawn I bust my butt outside every day pulling weeds by hand watering and mowing once a week at my mowers highest hight. I'm going to try to put pictures up please help. Thanks

Comments (48)

• autograff323
    Original Author
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I live in eastern pa in the poconos the soil is a clay type soil out here. The company also said that this spring we should aerate the soil because it is very heavy clay soil it would help it breath. I'm the type of guy that is out there on my hands and knees pulling out the weeds by hand for hours I spent so much to get it installed and I do my best to do what I can but it seems like nobody today knows what they are doing I would love to have someone who could come here a give me real advice on what to do.

• grass1950
    11 years ago

What city are you near? How many square ft. of lawn? Does the lawn get 6 or more hours of sunligh daily? Are you able/interested in doing it youself?

• autograff323
    Original Author