Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenerzone4

How to use NTEP results at home

gardenerzone4
12 years ago

Complete newbie here to the world of grass seeds, so please provide expert advice.

In the past, we've usually used Scott's or Pennington's seed mixes from home improvement stores when fall overseeding. Then I discovered the NTEP and thought that maybe I should be overseeding with the best performing grasses for my area. I'm in Nebraska, so that's Falcon V fescue and Midnight bluegrass.

I have 20,000 sqft to overseed, so what's the best (cheapest) place to buy?

I am thinking of mixing an 80/20 Falcon V to Midnight ratio as I mostly want fescue's drought tolerance but also want some bluegrass for spot repairs. Is this a good custom mix? Is mixing in any bluegrass necessary given that Falcon V has 7%+ rhizomes already? I see some people mixing in 3 types of fescues instead of just 1--should I be doing that?

What's the deal with the tags--blue tag, gold tag? What kind of tag should I be looking for when buying my seeds?

A colleague of mine from work says that I should overseed with RTF Fescue from Tood Valley Farms.

http://www.toddvalleyfarms.com/RTFTurfSaverSeed.htm

She has it over her whole lawn, raves about how low water and maintenance it is, and wants her soccer club to even use it to seed their playing fields. My dilemma is RTF Fescue is not rated by NTEP. How does it compare against the Falcon V's and such?

Comments (2)

• grassboro
    12 years ago

I can help with a few of your questions.

You are on the right track by looking at the NTEP results for trial sites located near you.

I have gotten seed from Hogan Farms in TN. They have a lot of the top varieties available and are reasonably priced. You can goggle them and give them a call. There are other good seed suppliers also.