Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nevermore44

New Lawn in Southern Ohio

Nevermore44 - 6a
10 years ago

I am new to this whole lawn thing... but I plan on revamping just the backyard this fall and then the front next fall. It's full of orchard grass from the previous owner. I will be knocking it down over the next few weeks and starting over. The lawn gets full sun and is just clay fill (with the original sod "topsoil").

I regards to seed, i was sourcing around and talking to Hogan's. I will be looking at Bullseye/cochise mix. I asked about adding in bluegrass and they suggested to not add it. Any ideas on this? or adding in any other varieties of grass to even it out?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago

Perhaps they don't have a KBG that matches your other grasses in color or texture. Dunno.

Generally when you have full sun areas, KBG makes a great turf. Unlike fescue and rye, it fills in after any weakness or damage. On the flip side, it does normally go dormant (brown) in the winter while fescue remains green. For that reason many people will mix the two with 10% (by weight) of the seed being KBG.

• Nevermore44 - 6a
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks!

not counting this year... we had been having quite dry droughts each summer. Should i avoid the KBG for that reason?

I don't mind doing the overseeding each or every other year if i do end up using just TTTF...

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago

Lawns will do better when watered one full inch per week. If you are not going to commit to that, then perhaps you should look at other alternatives. Here is a picture of bpgreen's prairie grass lawn in Salt Lake City.

{{gwi:79340}}

Utah is considered high altitude desert due to the lack of regular rainfall. His lawn is a mix of wheatgrasses, blue grama, and strawberry clover. He waters it infrequently starting in the early summer and mows monthly. These grasses require full sun.

• ed1315
    10 years ago