Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aosmer

New Home, Where do I start?

aosmer
9 years ago

I moved into our new house about a month ago. I am new to home owning, so having a yard to maintain is new to me. The front yard is a mess weed wise, and I'm not sure where to begin. As far as fertilizer, I'm not sure what to buy and when to apply it. How do I achieve the dream lawn, without paying a company to do it. Thanks for the help!

Comments (27)

• botanicalbill
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For starters, decide what type of grass you want. Maybe ask some of your neighbors what kind of grass they are growing.
    Next, get some 2,4-d concentrate. Learn how to measure the square footage that you are going to treat so you can determine how much product you need. Then learn how to spray it evenly. This will get rid of almost all of your broad-leaf weeds.
    Next, learn how to id the pesky weeds that remain and find a suitable control for them.
    Next, learn what pre-emergents do and decide if you want to use these.
    Back to the grass your going with; if your going to seed, do not buy cheap or bargain or miracle seeds.

I started out like this years back, it becomes a hobby once you get into it.

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    9 years ago

I have to say that it really looks quite nice. You keep it mowed, the weeds are there but not completely out of control. This lawn is workable as it stands.

But if you want to change it, change it.

For your locale, feeding the lawn should be on Labor Day (if you aren't pulling it and reseeding it, which is getting late to decide for this year). Any off the shelf synthetic will be fine for the remainder of this year--but get one that isn't Weed and Feed as they don't work well and throw around a ton of chemicals, and has nothing else but fertilizer in it.

Personally, I'd kick it into high gear by feeding again on October first.