Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lawn_hobby

For tiemco: thick bluegrass

Lawn_Hobby
11 years ago

tiemco,

I have owed you this photo for a while. This is the thick bluegrass I've spoken of in the past.

Before anyone labels this tall fescue, or orchardgrass, or anything other than bluegrass: I want to say it is definitely bluegrass, though it might be hard to tell from the photo. Note the midrib. Note the new blades on the right, which are folded in the bud. I assume it's a type of KBG, and not Texas or another type of bluegrass, though I can't be sure, as I'm not an expert.

I have never seen KBG with blades this thick. This grass is in my own lawn, and has been for years.

The color in the photo is accurate.

Comments (14)

• suesheldon
    11 years ago

This has nothing to do with whether or not the specimen in your picture is KBG, but as someone who works in the Salon industry...your manicure is excellent! Kudos to whoever does your nails :)

• Lawn_Hobby
    Original Author
    11 years ago

lawnlady,

I figured someone might comment on something off-topic like that. I just cut my fingernails this morning. Like cutting the grass, cutting nails is key to feeling good, I'm convinced. I'm kind of a perfectionist about cutting things so they come out even. I'm a pretty young guy, compared probably to most on this board, so hopefully the women I hang out with appreciate such things.

Thanks for the comment; it made me smile because I spend a fair amount of time on this stuff when I do it once a week. I don't really enjoy it, but I have to do it anyway, so why not make it good while I'm at it?

• Lawn_Hobby
    Original Author
    11 years ago

btw, the blade width is around 1/4 inch, give or take. Some are wider, some narrower. it's bluegrass...it has the boat-shaped tip, it doesn't grow in bunches, and it definitely spreads. And you easily can see it's suffering from bluegrass-prone diseases from all the rain lately.