Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buddylee375

Grass Seed Selection Advice

buddylee375
11 years ago

I live in eastern Wisconsin and am looking for a little advice on grass seed selection. I recently had some plumbing work done which tore up the front yard a bit and combined with some of the bare spots, it is much need of a little seed.

My lawn is primarily partial to full sun, but there are a couple areas that receive much less sun. Currently, those partially shaded areas are where the grass is growing the best. The areas that receive full sun do not look nearly as green and lush. As far as I can tell, the grass is a blend of fescue, KBG, and there might even be some perennial ryegrass in there as well. I snapped some pictures of the grass, because I am no expert on grass by any means.

Alright so a few questions, is it possible in my climate zone to have a lawn comprised of only KBG or is the fescue and ryegrass needed as well?

If going all KBG is an option, what blend of cultivars would you suggest? From my understanding after reading some of the posts on this forum, it is common to choose one compact, one compact America, and one compact midnight. With that in mind and trying to make sense of the NTEP tables, I was possibly thinking a blend of Bewitched, NuChicago, and some type of Compact America which I haven't quite figured out yet that would be ok in the shaded areas.

As far as actually seeding the lawn, is it best to mow the grass as it is right now down to 1/2" and then spread the grass seed with a small layer of topsoil/compost over top?

Any recommendations or advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Couple more pictures of the grass:

{{gwi:114431}}

{{gwi:114432}}

Comments (6)

• goren
    11 years ago

The selection of a grass seed that compliments your lawn can be a question better suited to your doing some research into what kinds of bluegrass is best for your area.