Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joyce_6333

Hubby wanted a 'natural' lawn

joyce_6333
12 years ago

This is my first time posting, and sure hope someone here can offer advice. We just built a new home on a couple acres of wooded land. After final grade, DH had 6" of black dirt spread out, and then seeded it with a wildflower mixture from seedland.com. -- just around the house where the trees were disturbed. Then he put straw over the top. He and I totally disagreed on this whole process. I felt for the amount of money he spent he could have had it all sodded. But that's another story for another day. Anyway, now we have a yard full of the most awful weeds. Tall, thick grasses that grow at least 3' to 4' tall, oats (yes oats!), many broadleaf weeds that are HUGE and very little wildflowers. It's absolutely horrible. Where do we start to rectify this mess. I've been pulling these tough grasses and weeds until I'm blue in the face. And now we have clover, I mean HUGE clover. Impossible to pull out. I doubt even tilling the whole yard would help. Any ideas? I'm afraid this is a long process and may take years to get a nice lawn. HELP! and thanks.

Comments (16)

• tracyvine
    12 years ago

UGH! I hate to say it because I really hate using chemicals but... it sounds to me like you are going to have to spray the area with weed killer and start over after everything is dead in the areas.

My first attempt at gardening way back when I had put down some of the same seed mixture and gotten the exact same result. Mind you it was only a tiny area that I did and thank heaven for that. I was able to pull it all out by hand in a short time.

• texas_weed
    12 years ago

Spray it with Round Up, wait a week, mow the whole mess down and remove the debris. Then get a tractor with box blade and regrade the area. Once that is done you are ready to either seed or sod.

Secondly just before you do this, get a good Family Practice Lawyer, you might need one for a divorce. :