Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bernt_gw

Addressing fungus and low nitrogen in SA lawn

bernt (TX 8B)
9 years ago

Newbie here. We have a St. Augustine lawn in need of some major recovery. Suffering from a fungal infection, I believe. I have decided to go the organic route and see if we can achieve better results and have some fun in the process.

I have replaced our sprinkler system with one which applies water slowly, so we are now watering once a week deeply. I have also begun applying some shampoo. Lawn mower is set to max height.

I recently did a basic soil test and found that our soil is low in nitrogen, so I want to begin applying some organic fertilizer -- alfalfa pellets? I also want to apply some cornmeal to begin combating the spreading fungus.

Question(s) #1 - can I apply the cornmeal and alfalfa at the same time? If so, is the suggested rate 20lbs of CORNMEAL AND ALFALFA COMBINED per 1,000 sf? And do I simply water it in enough to help it stick, and then let our weekly watering do the rest?

Question #2 -- Earlier in the summer we raked out the dead grass caused by the fungus and applied a compost/topsoil layer to the bare spots to help the existing SA fill it in. But we did not do anything to address the fungus. Now, before we apply the cornmeal, should we remove any new "dead" grass leaves (since the fungus has continued to spread), or should we leave those blades in place? My sense is the blades should be removed since they have the bad fungus -- just to make the battle a little easier.

In short, I'd welcome any thoughts the knowledgeable folks in this forum might be willing to share. I've enjoyed reading about the challenges others have faced and the valuable insight and counsel y'all provide. We are ready to try to save our lawn and do it without relying on a bunch of chemicals.

Comments (5)

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

I don't think it will make a difference but where do you live?