Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mariannepilolli

My lawn is broken.

MariannePilolli
9 years ago

I am renting a house with a terrible lawn, and I've decided I want to try to bring it back to life. I live in Texas, my house faces South and there is some shade. The lawn is mostly crabgrass and dirt. I was told I need to rake up the crabgrass and aerate, then seed and water like crazy. A few questions:
Do I need to test the pH?
Do I need to fertilize?
Do I need to put something down to kill weeds?
What kind of grass seed should I use?
I'm willing to spend lots of time and energy and a little bit of money on this. I'd like to learn as much as I can for when I buy a house, and to have something beautiful that I can be proud of. I am an absolute beginner, and I would appreciate some expert advice!

Comments (4)

• newowner21
    9 years ago

I just did this at my home in nj. I'm a beginner too but I did a lot of research. This is what I did. Test soil. I sent mine to my state's cooperative extension. I think every state has one. Kill everything with roundup concentrate quick pro available at a landscape wholesaler like john deere landscape. Wait a week or so. Kill anything green again. Mow and bag on lowest setting. Rake. Find a place that sells quality seed and buy a mix of top rated warm season grasses that scored high on the NTEP turf trials. Put down any amendments the soil test suggests like lime or whatever. Seed. I used a slit seeder like everyone suggested and it sucked real bad. I'd think twice about renting one unless you can find a self propelled one. I think the back of a rake would be fine. Walk around to help seed soil contact. Put down starter fertilizer. Keep moist until established. Mine is sprouting up everywhere after a week.
    Keep in mind things might be slightly different in your state. Wherever you find that top seed, those guys should steer you in the right direction.

• BoatDrinksq5
    9 years ago

+1 on soil test.