Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fpmom_gw

'New England' Lawn experts I need your help!!!! Which seed?

fpmom
10 years ago

Hoping there are some lawn experts out there familiar with growing seed in New England specifically the Boston area

I am overseeding my lawn this week - I'm still new to growing/maintaining lawn and after many many newbie mistakes seem to be learning a few things ready for the new season next year....

Therefore, overseeding this Fall is important for me to thicken the small amount of turf that is still alive (!) and to seed the areas that are bare due to grubs/fungus etc
I have a large area that is mostly shady (maybe a couple of hours sun a day) and about a third of the area gets more sun

Last year I used Penningtons sun/Shade mix... it's ok but I don't like how light green it is - I have been recommended to try Jonathon Green's products....can anybody recommend this seed? If not, what works well in the Boston area that is also hardy against kids/pets (and I know that's another discussion altogether since grass typically doesn't appreciate either!) Thanks for any and all advice :)

Comments (5)

• fpmom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Has anybody used Pearl's Premium Ultra Low Maintenance Lawn Seed?

• beckyinrichmond
    10 years ago

I'm not one of the experts (I'm reading in the forum to learn) and I know nothing about what seed is best in the Boston area. But I've always heard that no grass will do well in shade. Some will live but it will be sparse. Have you thought about alternatives to grass? Bare dirt isn't desirable. But there are some groundcovers that tolerate shade. You might search "groundcovers for shade" and see what comes up. You could cultivate moss. Mulch with planting beds of ferns or hostas under shady trees can be pretty. One thing I would not recommend is ivy. Ivy can take over everything.

• fpmom
    Original Author
    10 years ago