Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new02organics

lawn care program

new02organics
9 years ago

Hi. First time here. I'm looking for advice on a yearly lawn care program for what is considered Northern VA- tall fescue grass with clay soil. We are using Scotts yearly program but am interested in what others are using-Scotts 4 step, organics (specifically what products, amount and when used during the year), etc.

thank you

Comments (3)

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

I've been using organic fertilizer only since 2002. Before that my lawn was bouncing all over the place. It seemed at times that no matter what I put on it, nothing improved it. Finally organics fixed everything all at one time.

Back then I was using ground corn meal because it was only $3 per bag. Now with the prices of commodities changing I'm using alfalfa pellets. Both of these are sources of protein although corn is a much weaker source. Protein is processed by the microbes in the soil into its constituents and ultimately (3 weeks later) into plant food.

As for a schedule I'm much further south than you and I don't typically winterize. What I do do is start fertilizing on Washington's Birthday and then again on Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, and Thanksgiving. I suppose if I winterized I would not need the February application.

My application rate is 20 pounds per 1,000 square feet.

Do you have any brick factories in your neighborhood? If not then you probably don't have clay but a mix of salts which mimic clay soil. Do you have issues with hard soil even when it is wet? Or issues with standing water or penetration into the soil? If so we can probably help you.

If you write back, please tell us what your watering regimen is. How often do you water and for how long? Historically most peoples' lawn problems can be traced to watering too often and not deeply enough.

• new02organics
    Original Author
    9 years ago