Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emilio24_gw

3 week old el toro zoysia sod turning brown

Emilio24
9 years ago

Help! Had four pallets of el toro zoysia thrown down three weeks ago. As of three days ago I've noticed a brown and dry patch that is about 10x10. My first initial reaction was that it lacked water, I immediately started watering throughly twice a day in the morning and afternoon. This morning a few mushrooms popped up and the sod doesn't seem to be getting any better. With the upper ninety degree heat in Tallahassee, I doubt I could be overwatering but with the thunderstorms and rain lately it's my best belief that the soil is most and adequately watered. I stick a screwdriver and it goes all the way through easily . This is my first time throwing down sod, all comments and feedback appreciated!

Comments (3)

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

You should have been keeping the sod moist by watering it LIGHTLY, three times per day, for the first 3 weeks after putting the sod down. It doesn't sound like you were doing that.

Regardless, it sounds like it's wet enough now. Zoysia has a fatal flaw in my book. When it goes bad, it doesn't seem to matter what month it went bad, it remains dead looking for the remainder of the season. Then in April (or March for you in FL), it finally comes back like nothing ever happened. So whether your problem was too much water or not enough water, the grass is likely to be "dormant" for the rest of the year.

Can you lift any of the squares of sod or are they all knitted down to the soil by new roots?

Did you get watering instructions from the sod installer? If so, what were they?