Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txscorpion12

St. Augustine sod, help....

txscorpion12
10 years ago

Hello, I am new to this. I laid down some SA sod on 09/2/13, I basically tilled the yard, raked and leveled the lawn. Like I said, I am new to this and I guess I did'nt do much homework. So far certain areas of the lawn are looking yellow, brown. I want to say most of it looks green but I am worried that I am doing something wrong. I live is South Texas and it has been raining mostly everyday since I installed it, the grass looks like it is growing but would like some help. I decided to add Milorganite to my lawn to see if this can give it a boost, I added this yesterday, 09/19/13. I don't have a picture of the lawn at the moment, I plan on taking some this afternoon especially of the problem areas. Is there anything I can do to make sure that the grass will become established? I also have weeds growing around the areas, can I spray anything to prevent weeds, or do I wait? Any help or comments will be greatly appreciated....

Comments (12)

• goren
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Just make sure the sod is being given adequate water to set its roots. Its cooler now---not so much heat, so the grass will grow for a time.
    I'm not that familiar with St Aug grass as far as when you should cut it.....ask your neighbors---especially the ones that have a nice lawn of the same type of grass.
    I think St Augustine grass grows best when allowed to grow a bit higher...3"....4" ....it will shade out the weeds.

If you must apply a herbicide (weed killer) do so with a hand sprayer to hit the weed....not the young grass....you don't want the young establishing roots to be harmed.
    I wouldn't have put the fertilizer down at this time without some guidance.....does the package say you can apply it to growing sod.
    Give the grass a chance to set its roots and grow some before mowing.