Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fpmom_gw

Help! Lawn expert advice needed on fungus in October

fpmom
9 years ago

A newbie here that's slowly learning!
We had sod put down middle of summer (I know worst time but contractors were running behind schedule) and due to the heat were needing to water 4 times a day�that plus the humidity and of course fungus hit�. I put down 2 lots of fungicides 2 weeks apart over September and it seemed to work (I am 'trying' to go organic so also put down some crab shell a couple of weeks after the last fungicide application)
Then we had a very hot/humid weekend recently at the end of September and the fungus returned right out of nowhere� I went out and got 'Heritage G' fungicide (have not used this year) but before applying am wondering if I need to now that the cool temps have moved in�.my question is this: will the cool temps 'kill off' the fungicide or should I still put the Heritage G down? Still learning but I do know that I don't want the fungus back taking over my lawn! If I put it down now will it help for early Spring? This all being with the caveat that I am trying to be as 'organic' as possible while the lawn is establishing but do recognize that I may need to use other methods as needed
PS Lawn is a mixture of Kentucky Bluegrass and fescues and I over seeded the week before labour day with Jonathon Greens Black Beauty Ultra mixture (to thicken it up for weed prevention and to fill in holes from the summer fungus) Have also applied JG's 'Magical' and 'Love your lawn', Organic plant magic and liquid seaweed and fish fertilizer over the last couple of months at various times (not all together)� We live in western Massachusetts…. the lawn does look great - very dark green and thick but I can see the fungus underneath (mainly brown spot I think)