Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joejkd

Types of "top dressing"

joejkd
10 years ago

Note the quotes. After a while urking on Various posts I've come to the realization tht there is more than one definition .

What is the best amendment for creating a superior Seed bed for over seeding applications? Compost? What type? Are there cheaper alternatives to it that are just as effective for the specific application of over seeding?

Again my ONLY objective is to Maximize germination potential

Comments (5)

• beckyinrichmond
    10 years ago

I'm a novice currently working on a whole yard renovation. My yard guy aerated and put down lime, fertilizer, and seed (tall fescue) for me on Sept. 10. I rolled two days later. On Sept 25 I broadcast more seed all over, as germination was sparse. The grass was mainly in the aeration holes in the areas that got some shade. Putting more seed down helped. I mowed some parts last week and put more seed down just in areas that were still mostly bare. Before I did that I wrote to David Hall to get some advice on why I was having problems with germination. He said it was probably a moisture problem. The bare areas got strong sun. And two weeks ago, we had a week of 90 degree sunny days. Although I was watering three times a day, it was drying out between waterings. He suggested a shampoo treatment and also a molasses one. I did the shampoo over the whole yard and did the molasses on certain spots. After that the areas that had dried out quickly stayed damp longer on sunny days. Now to your question about top dressing. On the last seed I put mushroom compost on top, just a very light dusting. The remnants of Karen were to come through and I wanted to keep this new seed from washing. This week we'd had rain about every day (3.5 inches so far) and the grass is finally filling in. In August I had done some shampoo on a hard packed section of dirt where not even weeds would grow and grass from the first seeding grew there. I was surprised at h