Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newhomeowner_2009

Fallen tree-- what do I do?

newhomeowner-2009
14 years ago

So I posted earlier today about overseeding, but that was before I noticed another issue that needs attention: I just noticed that a tree fell on my property last night.

It's not in the way of anything, which is why I didn't notice until late this afternoon. The question is, what if anything do I do? It's about fifty feet long, and far too heavy to be budged. I'd like to do something about it, maybe cut it up as firewood. (I have a wood stove.) Thing is, I don't have a chain saw.

So I guess the question is, should I buy a chain saw and cut up the thing, and if so, should I do it now or wait until next spring? It's out there in the field and is going to get snowed on (I'm in the Catskill mountains).

As you can see by this question, I am a total newbie on such things!

Comments (21)

• davidandkasie
    14 years ago

unless you know someone who KNOWS what they are doing and can teach you to use a saw safely, you should hire it out. i don't say that implying you can't do it, but as a warning that you can easily get hurt or killed.

• newhomeowner-2009
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I think you've got a point there.

Do you think it can wait until the spring? I figure that at least I can get some wood out of it, and I don't want it to rot.

• texas_weed
    14 years ago

I don't suggest you go buy a chain saw and try this without some training. Chain saws are rather unforgiving, As stated it is not rocket science, but one mistake can cost you a limb or your life.

As for using the tree for firewood, use caution here. What kind of tree? There are a lot of trees you do not ever want to use as fire wood. If you use something like pine, it can burn down your house.

• newhomeowner-2009
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Yes, I've definitely ruled out buying a chain saw. I read on the internet about how it can kick back and... forgetaboutit.