Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrdudeck

Growing Grass On Soccer Field

jrdudeck
9 years ago

Hello,

I am a soccer coach at a small private school in Maryland. We have a very small budget and need help getting grass to grow on our soccer field. What types of general things need to be done after each soccer season and even during the season to keep the grass growing? What kind of grass seed would you recommend for soil with clay in it? What kind of fertilizers would be good to use on a soccer field? Any other advice or help you can give me would be great!!!

Thanks,
JR

Comments (6)

• neilc
    9 years ago

soil test,
    proper pH,
    aerate,
    overseed,
    Irrigate, can you?, is there? properly(?)
    fertilize as required,
    pesticide regulations?

what are your issues other than thin and worn goals,
    crabgrass? (like I have to ask)
    other weed pressure?

• neilc
    9 years ago

and who besides you is caring for the field?
    sharp blades,
    mulch the leaves back in,
    proper cut height,
    and grass type?

• neilc
    9 years ago

available equipment ?

• jrdudeck
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hello Again,

So I have to admit that I am new to this whole trying to grow grass thing. I'm going to need you help with figuring out some of the things that you asked me.

First, how do I do the soil test?
    What do I need to do a PH test?

The field has not been aerated for many years. Mostly because we don't have the machine and because money is tight.

Irrigation:
    We currently do not have any type of irrigation for the field. We are looking to hopefully buy something here soon.

Fertilize:
    The field has never been fertilized to my knowledge. What kind of fertilizer would be acceptable for a soccer field?

Pesticide:
    We haven't used these on the field.