Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rayray05

Advise for newbie, Please... Weeds/Fert

rayray05
16 years ago

Hi, I am new to lawn care and looking for some advise on the best way to get rid of weeds in our Bermuda. I've been hand-pulling and using spot treatment (WBG) but realized I no longer catch up with the speed they grow here in Hawaii. We recently moved here and this is a temporary housing and we wouldn't want to invest too much on the yard. But it is getting the point where it's too ugly to look at and I've got to do something before weeds take over the whole yard. We have all sorts of common weeds as crab grass and also very invasive Beach Wire/Crow Foot Grass. I was avoiding to use chemical but I think it's time to do something more than dealing with them individually. Here are my questions:

(1)How effective are those Fertilizer with Crabgrass Preventer/Control for killing weeds?

(2)How long does it take to see the results?

(3)How long do I wair for overseeding after the Fert?

Any inputs and advise are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

P.S. I mentioned BeachWireGrass and here's a pic of that. Could someone tell me what's the best way to deal w this?

http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc262/aloha_beachdog/0709260050.jpg

Comments (8)

• bpgreen
    16 years ago

The crabgrass preventer doesn't kill the existing crabgrass. It just stops new crabgrass from germinating. It actually probably stops any seeds from germinating, including grass that you want to grow, so don't put it down if you plan to seed grass. You need to wait until the new grass you've seeded has sprouted before putting down any preemergent. In fact, you may need to wait longer than that (sometimes until you've mowed 2 or three times). There should be details on the label.

• rayray05
    Original Author
    16 years ago