Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jchansky

Fescue Is 2 Weeks old/Is this Normal

jchansky
11 years ago

Hello I planted Penningtons 20/lb of tall fescue/smart seed.I started out by killing off all the weeds in my back yard using round up a few weeks before. I then roto tilled my whole back yard to loosen up the soil. The grass seed was planted on september 23 and the first week I waterted 3 times a day for about 10 minutes. In week 2 I watered 2 times a day for 15 minutes. This is my first time growing grass from seed and i dont know whats normal. There are bare patches and I dont know if it will fill in on its own or if i need to fill in those patches. If I do need to fill in patches should I do it now or wait till the spring. I would appreciate any tips or advice you may have. Below is a link to a video of my back yard.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xu7mr3_fescue_lifestyle

Here is a link that might be useful: Video of My FESCUE

Comments (9)

• dchall_san_antonio
    11 years ago

Fescue is not the kind of grass that spreads to form a carpet. Each plant is its own plant. The plant will get bigger but won't do what you want.

Fill the bare spots now. If you wait and have bare spots in the spring, they will fill with crabgrass instead of fescue.

In a year you can come back and we'll tell you why your lawn is bumpy (hint: it has to do with rototilling).

• jchansky
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Another Image

• tiemco
    11 years ago

No, that isn't normal. It should be fairly even, not patchy. Did you have heavy rains that moved your seeds around?

• kidhorn
    11 years ago

My guess is your tilling left some spots higher than others and the seed settled into the lower spots.

Next time, instead of tilling, core aerate.