Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
St. Augustine question (cable company butchers)

Posted by texaskelley 9a (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 25, 11 at 13:07

Hello all!

I am new to lawn care. DH and I just moved to TX and are renting a house with BEAUTIFUL 6 month old St. Aug sod (not sure what variety). The owner is adamant that the lawn stay in good shape. We have in-ground sprinklers, so maintenance should not be a problem. I have read all about organic fertilizers, and will be starting a regimen suggested here in the spring.

My question (or, rather, questions): the cable company has to dig through the backyard to bury a cable line. I have been assured that they are only lifting then replacing 4" of grass and dirt to do this, and that the grass should be fine. What can I do to make sure I don't have a path of dead grass in the spring?

Add on question: how often should I be watering through the winter? I can't find an answer to that...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: St. Augustine question (cable company butchers)

You really do not have to much of anything really. The machine they use to bury the cable does not do a lot of damage. It will look a bit like mole tunnel of just a line of fresh dirt in a straight line. Come spring once the grass starts to grow again will be gone in no time at all. If anything just go out and step on the line of dirt it mounds up to level it off.

As for winter watering not much to do there either. IF it gets really dry water once a month or so. Or if you hear a really cold snap, and I mean cold like low twenties or lower, you can water to add some freeze protection. If you have mowed properly at a height of 3 inched or higher freeze damage should not be a problem your location.

o