Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Nocturnal Lawn Vandals

Posted by raymondo17 z9 Sacramento (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 2, 13 at 13:15

Last night, nocturnal visitors (I'm assuming raccoons) tore my lawn to shreds. (See photos at the link below.) They dug up the grass, I assume in search of worms or grubs. What can I do to prevent a repeat performance tonight?

Here is a link that might be useful: Crime scene photos

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Nocturnal Lawn Vandals

Go to a sporting good store and buy a motion sensitive camera (in the hunting area) and see what the vandals are. If they are raccoons you can set up live traps and relocate them or kill them. Short of that, I don't think there's anything you can do besides feed them so that they don't dig up your yard. But then instead of 1 or 2 raccoons running around, you're going to have 10 of them digging through your garbage. I'm not an expert on animals, but I can't picture raccoons tearing up a yard. Sound more like armadillo.

o

Can't see your pictures. If it is a raccoon, they can be trapped but the trap will be broken and useless after a raccoon gets through trying to get out. Other digging animals include skunks, squirrels, and possums. If you catch a skunk, you'll have to let it die in the trap. Or you can turn any live trap into a skunk trap by covering it completely with black plastic. When the skunk cannot see out, it doesn't seem to spray.

o

>Other digging animals include skunks, squirrels, and possums. If you catch a skunk, you'll have to let it die in the trap.<

And we have all three of them around here. I don't think it's squirrels, as this happened overnight.