Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harris_turner

Rebuilding a lawn-Start to Finish. DIY help!!!

harris_turner
11 years ago

Hi there. My wife and I are about to buy a new house and th yard has been neglected. It has some sort of grass in it but it's patchy and full of weeds and needs to be replaced. Zoysia seems to be a real hit around our area right now. We live on the edge of zone 8 and 9 and i would say we are more like zone 9. The yard has some large trees with some roots that are visible in the patchy areas. My questions are as follows:

1) What do I need to do to kill the existing lawn?

2)how do I prepare the soil?

3)do the roots need to come up? They aren't very large. Maybe an inch in a half but they do stick out of the soil.

4)when I kill everything, do I have to take any amount of the existing soil up? I would think it would have dead grass and weeds that would be undesirable for the new yard.

I'm a newb so anything will help. Thanks everyone!

Comments (7)

• roxanne72
    11 years ago

Hi Harris_Turner 9,

To kill your existing grass I would recommend a non-selective systematic herbicide, which is a herbicide that kills everything. You have to use this herbicide when your grass is active meaning you need to water and take care of your grass then apply the herbicide.

Hope this helps!

• dchall_san_antonio
    11 years ago

Where do you live? Zone 9 is thousands of miles long and goes through all sorts of soil and climate zones. The only reason to use a zone is when selecting plants. It is not helpful for grass at all.

You prepare the soil by growing grass in it. So far so good. You can prepare it better by fertilizing with 20 pounds per 1,000 of organic fertilizer. My favorite this year is straight alfalfa pellets (rabbit chow).

What roots? The grass roots? Nah. Leave them alone.