Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txaggietracy

Bermuda lawn care help needed

txaggietracy
9 years ago

Greetings! I live in the Mansfield area in TX. My lawn is about 1 1/2 years old. I have no idea what type of bermuda grass we have.
What I need help with is coming up with a game plan to follow from this point forward so I can have a nice lush, green, weed-free lawn this summer.
I am a novice at this. My last home had st. augustine grass and it was easy to care for. This bermuda is a bit tougher for me to deal with.

My questions:
If I didn't put pre-emergent down for the fall, what should I do to prepare for the spring/summer?

Should I turn off my automatic sprinklers now and manually turn them on every other week or so to water?

How can I attack the dallis grass that is overtaking my back yard? Its too much to pull by hand. Can a professional kill it?

I have dogs so I will need to work around them.

Thank you in advance for all of your help!

Comments (8)

• User
    9 years ago

Are you religious? Have you read the Bermuda Bible? :)

It answers all your questions.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bermuda Bible

• txaggietracy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yes, I have looked at the Bermuda Bible, but I still would like more clarity on what to do from today through spring. I guess step-by-step instructions might be needed in my case.

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

Everything I know of that kills dallisgrass also kills bermuda. Generally with grassy weeds in bermuda, the approach is to kill the weedy grass with a grass killer and kill as little bermuda as possible in the process. So you would spot spray with grass killer or Roundup. Then let the bermuda fill back in.