Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stein54

How to restore lawn come spring?

stein54
9 years ago

I am very new to lawn care just, but the house i just bought definitely needs the lawn to be overhauled. The grass is very patchy but the main problem is the soil is very compacted and has alot of rocks, so here are my questions?
-It seems i just missed the boat as all instructions seem to point to the fall as the only time, but what is the best way to roto til my lawn? i.e do i treat it with anything before, do i do it in early march, do i put down anything before i seed?
-Also there are currently alot of leaves on my yard, a friend told me to mulch them and leave them there? does this work i had never heard of it?
Any comments/recommendations would be great, Thanks.

Comments (7)

• maplerbirch
    9 years ago

I'm a big believer in mulch mowing leaves as well, but if you have wet piles laying around the yard it is too late to think about that. Piles should be removed before they kill more grass.
    If you are going to roto-till then it can be done anytime the ground isn't frozen and the sooner the better. Chances are your new lawn being roto-tilled in the Spring will mean lots of weeds amid struggling grass, but not necessarily.
    If your ground is freezing solid and thawing out by Spring, that should loosen the soil to a worthy degree and possibly relieve compaction issues. You may opt instead to dormant seed now, even with Annual Ryegrass and mulch mow through the Summer; then renovate your lawn in August/Sept. period.
    Saving yourself the possibility of everything going wrong because of Spring renovation will be worth it, IMO. :)

• User
    9 years ago

Everything I've read here suggests that tilling the yard is *not* something you should consider.

• BoatDrinksq5
    9 years ago

Depending on what you want out of your yard(quality and time) and what type of grass (and how bad it is) you have now there are a lot of course of action.