Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rphudes

snapper 21 inch walkbehind mower

rphudes
14 years ago

I have a snapper 21 inch walk mower model FRP 216016. It has a briggs/stratton 6 hp engine, model 12h802 2677b1 00033059.

My question is the engine just shot the piston out the side of the block. I want to order a new engine from small engine warehouse.com. this is what I found:

Product Number: 12H802-3123

6hp Briggs Quantum

Mounting: Vertical

Electric Start: No

Fuel Tank: Yes

Shaft Size: 25mmx3-5/32"

Muffler: Included

Shipping Weight: 37 Pounds

Condition: New

Warranty: 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty

Returns: Limited Allowed

Would this be the correct engine?

Where can i find directions for swapping out the engine.....or is just a simple remove and replace? I have some experience rebuilding and swapping out car engines.

Thanks in advance

rich

Comments (8)

• tomplum
    14 years ago

Comparing the 2 on the parts list show they both have the same crankshaft, so you're probably fine. Briggs also has spec sheets that they have which tell the different specs- which they have. Give them an ask. As far as replacing, it should be within your limits of mechanical expertise. I would remove the blade hub, drive pulley if it has one etc- inspect belt, blade etc to be ready to go when the engine shows. Remember to change the oil after break in to extend the engines life.

• rphudes
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the confirmation and info. I just removed the engine. However I could not get the pully or the a small block of metal (where the bland mounts) off the crank shaft. Any suggestions

• rphudes
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Guess my question for above is what is the secret to getting the blade hub and crank pully off?

• tomplum
    14 years ago