Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etp1969

Mower won't start after sitting

etp1969
14 years ago

I have a Murray 13.5 hp/40". It has been sitting unused for about 2 years. When I first tried to start it, no surprise, nothing happened. I bought a new battery and nothing happened. I changed the spark plug, and nothing happened. Only because I'm hard headed, well, and because I can't afford to take it to a repair shop, I kept trying. After cleaning the air filter and pretty much everything I could see, it would start to turn over. It would crank sometimes briefly but would not stay cranked. I decided to drain the old fuel out, as it tried to turn over when I sprayed the "instant starter" while trying. I went to the store to make sure I knew how to get the hose off (I guess I should interject here that I am not a mechanic, know nothing about mowers, and this is the first time I've ever tried anything like this). By the time I came home, drained the old fuel and added new, it was back to doing nothing. Not a sound. I even pulled the fuse out and cleaned it too. Any ideas??? And if you have help for me, you need to be specific on how to do it :-) Thanks for any help you can give me!

Comments (10)

• hrpuffnstuff
    14 years ago

Was there fuel in the bowl? If not then the venturi is clogged and you have to remove the carb and take it out and clean it.

• etp1969
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I'm not sure what "the bowl" is... I'm sorry... like I said I'm new at this type thing. Although I will add this - it semed strange nothing was happening so I decided to jump the new battery from my car. While the cables were attached it would turn over and even crank briefly but wouldn't stay cranked. This leads me to thinking that whatever the problem is has to be draining the battery - as soon as I disconnected the cables it went back to not doing anything. Does this help anyone with figuring it out??

• lbpod
    14 years ago