Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
action13_gw

Toro commercial TV5002 This one has me nuts!

action13
15 years ago

Toro 2 cycle, TV5002, Proline engine, 122cc, Toro model # 22040, serial number# 8906747, Engine Family VSK122u121RA

Mower starts and runs ok, seems to stay running just fine, to test it I mower my front yard with it , maybe 45 minutes. Then after you shut it down, and go back to it 5 minutes later won't start. I have been through the carb top to bottom, complete rebuild including 45 minutes in my ultrasonic tank. New NGK plug, has a big blue spark and it jumps a 1/4 gap. This ones got me good. And yes have inspected the flywheel key. Assuming the compression is just fine or it wouldn't run at all. Have also checked for restricted muffler, intake and exhaust ports ect...Anyone had a problem like this with a 2 stroke Toro, with a Suzuki engine before?...Keep in mind I am a small engine mechanic and all the basic elementary things have been checked, and rechecked..Tom

Comments (10)

• canguy
    15 years ago

It sounds like a vapor lock. Is the fuel line routed close to a hot surface?

• action13
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Not really......thats what I first suspected. But I have even tried starting fluid to rule that out...Tom

• indy452
    15 years ago

Have you checked the spark when It won't start?

I know you said you see a spark big and blue but does it still have the big blue spark after she won't start?

If she has spark then what about fuel when its hot? Is the spark plug wet with fuel when you crank the rope several times?
    Those mikuni carbs can be fussy even when ultra clean.

I have two of those commercial toro's and I absolutely love the cut and feel of the machine.

Drives a guy nuts when these things happen huh?

Neal

• action13
    Original Author
    15 years ago