Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msealeysc

need advice on why lawnmower wont stay running

mseal
10 years ago

Ive had this mower for a couple of seasons and yesterday when i went to start it up, this problem arose out of nowhere. I start it and after a few seconds, the engine dies out.
At first, i thought it needed oil so i refilled it as well as put fresh gas in it. When that didnt work, i removed the plug and cleaned it...was dirty but not terrible.
Then i thought debris got in tank but when i flash a light in, i dont see anything. This is about where my 'knowledge' stops.
Im sure a few will say the carb needs cleaning...why would this problem show up all of a sudden?
And how do i go about correcting it?
I am a novice to this so any help is appreciated thank you.

Comments (10)

• bill_kapaun
    10 years ago

Look for a MODEL & TYPE number on the engine.
    That will allow us to determine exactly which engine it is.

http://www.outdoordistributors.com/Briggs_And_Stratton/briggsmodelid.html

• baymee
    10 years ago

Since it ran well for so long, the first thing I would check is the fuel bowl on the bottom of the carb for water. You'll need a 1/2" socket. With the engine cold, pinch the fuel line from the tank or, better yet, remove all the fuel from the tank. Loosen the bolt from the bottom of the carb and let the fuel drain into a shallow container and look for water in the fuel. It will be under the gas. If you find water, empty the entire tank and remove the fuel bowl. Use compressed air to dry the tank or just let it sit in the sun.

If this is too much to do, drain the fuel tank and loosen the bolt on the bottom of the carb. Get as much fuel out as you can. Leave the bolt loose and put some fresh gas into the tank. Allow a teaspoon or two to drain out of the carb. Tighten the bolt; don't overtighten. Try to start.

If that doesn't work, then you probably have dirt in the main jet. Look at this post for pictures of the various jets. Scroll to the bottom.