Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
solidrunner_gw

Knocking noise while mowing.

SolidRunner
12 years ago

I just got a Toro 20331 mower that's giving off a really back knock/banging noise when mowing. The mower sounds perfect when just idling but once I move to the grass it starts knocking and if I don't pull it back it will choke out and die.

I've read through all the posts and it sounded like it would be a bent/damaged blade so I replaced it (torqued to 50 ft/lbs) but that didn't help. Yesterday I tore off the flywheel because a friend told me to check the flywheel key but it's in perfect condition also.

I'm not afraid of tearing into motors (although I've never worked on a small motor before) but not sure exactly where to start or whether this issue is something that can be solved without major repair work.

It's a Toro 20331

Briggs and Stratton 6.5 hp motor

Build date 9/10

Appreciate any tips on where to start here.

Serial number 1009105686271

Comments (14)

• baymee
    12 years ago

Did you check the oil?

Engine knock under stress can also mean the the connecting rod is worn from lack of maintenance (oil change/lack thereof) and will soon fail.

• 1saxman
    12 years ago

If it's new, take it back. This is not typical and probably indicates a bad engine. If used, check engine mounting bolts. One possibility is the compression release is not working right and staying open. This will produce a loud knock and result in reduced power. When I start my mower with Tecumseh engine you'd swear it was about to throw a rod, but it's just the compression release staying open until about 1500 RPM is reached, about 1-3 seconds. On yours, maybe it doesn't go all the way back to normal operation. Whatever, it's not right.

• SolidRunner
    Original Author
    12 years ago

@baymee:

Oil is fresh, drained it to change the blade and refilled it to the top with no change in behavior.

@saxman1: