Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rbgood

stx-38 blades will not engage

RBGOOD
12 years ago

Help? I have an stx-38 I have had for years, was mowing, shut off PTO and left it running then blades would not come on again. I replaced the PTO because I had that issue 4 years ago, still would not come on. I am not an electrician and have no clue, what should I be looking for? the switch had been a little touchy this season so when it did not work I assumed the switch was faulty. Just looking for ideas of what I should look for now. Any help appreciated.

Comments (3)

• twelvegauge
    12 years ago

Welcome to the forum

There are a number of things that could be causing your problem. Here are some questions:

Did you do a search of this forum for "STX38 PTO"? (This is a recurring problem, and has been addressed a number of times.)
    Does your STX have a black mower deck, or is it yellow? (Yes, this matters, because other differences include the PTO switch.)
    Do you have a multimeter, and know how to use it?
    Does your battery have a full charge (even with the engine running, a weak battery can fail to provide enough voltage to activate the PTO.) (My first guess would be that a weak battery is your problem.)

However, your statement that the PTO switch has been "touchy" could well indicate a loose or corroded connection. The actual switch itself usually either works or doesn't work at all.

First, sit in the tractor seat, depress the clutch/brake pedal, turn the key switch to the "on" position, but do not start the engine. Then turn the PTO switch "on." You should hear a "click" from the area of the PTO, but I expect that you will not.
    The second - and easiest - thing to check is the ground wire that is attached to the underside of the tractor frame, near the right front wheel.