Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeff927

John Deere SX75 will not run ,, PLease help !!

jeff927
15 years ago

I have a 1988 John Deere SX75 with a Kawasaki 9 hp engine ! It would not start it cranks fine , but had no spark ! I replaced the coil , the spark plug , both with no effect , then I replaced the igniter & it started and ran for 20 minutes , then quit , it would only run in neutral for some reason , (which I think that is what the actual problem is !! The ignition curcuit is always grounded ! I have tried removing the ignition switch and running jumper wires to power the mower and then crank it , but something is keeping the ignition wire grounded !!

I will appreciated any guidance or help any one has to offer ! I worked as a mechanic for 25 years , but this machine is kicking my tush !!

Thank you ,

Jeff

Comments (12)

• bill_kapaun
    15 years ago

Have you pulled the shroud off the engine to make sure the wire isn't grounded there? (mice)

• jeff927
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yes I have done that and replaced the coil actually !! The wire runing to the igniter shows grounded & I am wondering if it should ?? I have removed the key switch from the circuit and hard wired around it with jumpers , no effect !! Could it have eaten an igniter so fast ??
    Thank you ,

• bill_kapaun
    15 years ago
  • jeff927
    Original Author
    15 years ago

The old one tested bad and I will test the new one later today ! I am going to unplug the wire running from the igniter to the ignition @ the engine (& leave it connected to the coil and see if it rus in that configuration) I am very suspicious that the pto switch is grounded out , something is grounding the igniter , I have eliminated the seat switch from the circuit , isolated the ignition switch , In looking at the wiring diagram I am ver suspicious of a bad pto switch !! It seems to be the only thing that could be providing a constant ground .
    EEEEEEEEE this machine is making me crazy !!