Return to the Lawn Mowers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Honda HRR21 not cutting grass

Posted by Bearf none (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 4, 13 at 8:27

I just bought a brand new Honda HHR2169 mulcher/bagger. It has the dual blades. I have been mowing for 50 years and had this one.. The mower on mulch setting leaves a strip of grass on the right side that isn't cut. It's consistent, so I'm wondering if there's a flaw in design. I mow high when it's hot, having been a turf guys for a few years in my life. If I run back over the strip it gets cut, but it make mowing the yard more of a chore. If you set a yardstick on the inside of the two right wheels, that's about the position the strip is in, and it's about 2 inches wide. It's very maddening, especially for a Honda. I had may last one 24 years before the drive wheels finally fell apart and it was wonderful. This one is not making me happy to have spent the money. I like a lot of the features, but after all, it is supposed to MOW the grass in one pass.....Wheels are at same setting, height is about 3" to base of the deck. I've also tried varying the speed to no avail. Other than mowing every other strip at half the width of the mower, the uncut strip remains consistent. Looks like a kid mowed the lawn. Would like to see if Honda has a comment.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Honda HRR21 not cutting grass

Best advise would be to take it back.

o