Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chuckmccall

Commercial Walk Behind Mower

chuckmccall
12 years ago

I have a small (less than 1/2 acre) but steep yard. I currently have a 21" self propelled bagging mower purchased at a retail store. I have been having problems with my knees and it has become very difficult to mow my yard. Even though the mower is self propelled, I feel like I'm doing a lot of the work pushing it and man-handling it to get it turned around and in and out of tight spots.

A riding mower is not an option. I tried one a few years ago and ended up flipping it over!

I'm wondering how a commercial walk behind would work with my yard. I've found a used 33" at a good price. It has five forward speeds and reverse.

I have no experience with this type mower. Are they easier to handle on a yard like mine? I do have some tight areas in my yard.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• wayne440
    12 years ago

If a 21" mower is difficult for you, I cannot imagine a larger, heavier walk behind as an improvement. Is your current mower front or rear wheel drive? Having used several 21" and 22" rear wheel drive mowers, I believe the the only easier method to mow grass might be to hire someone else.

I use a 48" belt drive, and while it does mow a lot of grass very quickly, it requires a substantial nudge once in a while to point it where you want it to go. A hydrostatic model would be less strenuous, but even then there will be a certain amount of effort required.

• 1saxman
    12 years ago

What he said. The commercial 'walk-behinds' are much heavier machines. Let us know exactly what you now have and maybe somebody can think of something better.

• chuckmccall
    Original Author
    12 years ago