Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heardy20

Lawnmower Design and Use

heardy20
10 years ago

Hi all

I am currently a student at Loughborough University in my final year of industrial design and technology. As part of the course we have to investigate and redesign a product.

I have chossen to look into the lawnmower specifically aimed towards an ageing population but am interested in any keen gardeners thoughts and feedback to do with grass cutting as aprt of my research.

How do you prefer to cut your lawn...?

What mower do you use....?

What do you do with the grass cuttings (compost, bin, etc)?

How and where do you store your mower.....?

How often do you cut your lawn....?

Any thing that fustrates you about current lawnmowers/anything you would change...?

Look forward to hearing any feedback or insights you have on the issue.

will be greatly appreciated.

Comments (4)

• phototone
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Lightness of the mower is the key element for me, as I have to drag the walk-behind up steps and hills.

Smooth discharge and fanning out of the clippings, so no clumping is also important.

Easy to use self-propelled system.

So far, in 50 years of mowing, I find the older LawnBoy 2-cycle models work best for me.

• Brandon Smith
    10 years ago

I truely hope your for real about this but even if your not, nice work on getting me to waste my phone battery!

I'm not old, 31, so I hope my contribution is useable.

I cut my lawn in jeans with either a t-shirt when warmer/early season and add a hooded sweatshirt (50/50 ratio of pull over to zip up) when it's cooler/later in the season. A belt is also in use during and I like to wear my dark tinted stihl shades/eye protection too.