Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
llygoden

Help with ID of these 4 plants (2 shrubs, 1 vine, & 1 big fern?)

llygoden
9 years ago

Hi there :)

I am new to gardening and attempting to make something nice out of the garden left by the previous residents of my home. I've been trying to figure out what these plants are with little success.

Plant 1 - a shrub with very smooth leaves. I haven't seen any blooms on it. It is around 3' tall, but the bigger, older stems have grown in a weeping fashion even though the new ones have grown straight up.

(click for larger images)

{{gwi:2118585}}
{{gwi:2118586}}

Plant 2 - a shrub, less than 2' tall. I thought this could be some kind of dogwood, but it doesn't seem right. I haven't seen any blooms.
{{gwi:2118587}}
{{gwi:2118588}}

Plant 3 - this vine is actually coming over the wall from my neighbor's yard. I do like it though, and was wondering what it was. It is the vine behind Plant 2. The leaves are quite big, and they have stayed green and on the vine. I haven't seen any blooms here, either.

{{gwi:2118589}}

Plant 4 - I'm not entirely sure what this is. The main stem is woody and curved, around 2' long. The non-woody stems are quite long, with the longest one just under 4'. The leaves are also very big, around 2' long. I haven't seen any blooms.

{{gwi:2118590}}
{{gwi:2118591}}

I live in Southern California and I've been here, at this house, throughout the last four seasons.

Thanks for your help! :)

Comments (11)

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

No 3 is a Hedera cultivar or species ie Ivy
    No 2 is Pittosporum tobira
    The last one may be Philodendron bipinnatifidum - but that is not a plant I know personally.

• Embothrium
    9 years ago

Elephant bush (Portulacaria)

Variegated Tobira (Pittosporum)

Ivy (Hedera)

Philodendron bipinnatifidum

This post was edited by bboy on Wed, Jan 28, 15 at 14:48

• Fori
    9 years ago

1. Looks a lot like jade plant. It should be blooming round about now.