Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lizifuur

Please help!

lizifuur
10 years ago

Hello! I am very new to taking care of houseplants. My grandmother gave me this one before she passed and I have been trying my best to care for it, but I'm honestly not sure just what type if ivy (?) it is. Knowing would cut down on a lot of confusion and help me get this lovely plant's leaves back to their normal green. It generally seems happy and perky, but I think it needs to be re-potted. Some of the leaves have started turning yellow and brown around the edges (too much sunlight? not enough humidity? over watering? Maybe there isn't enough iron in the soil, as one site suggested, or maybe the roots are all balled up and it's not getting enough water, the soil is hard...) and knowing just what kind of plant it is could probably help me figure out what kind of care it needs. Please and thank you!

Elizabeth

Comments (17)

• flo9
    10 years ago

It looks like the "devil" type... I know ... I don't like it whoever named it that.

They don't like a lot of direct sun. Mine does great with sun reaching in through window blinds 5 feet away and also just getting a 40 watt full spectrum light from a lamp beside it. A couple years I had it out on patio and it received a few hours of direct light... that was about 8 years ago... the sun and NASSA etc. f'ing up our protective layers has changed.

Give it a dash of some organic fertilizer and not too light. They are great plants and survivors. buy a 40 watt spectrum light and have it over the plant.

• flo9
    10 years ago

Water it once the soil is dry.... do NOT over water it. They do not need much water. Sure you can soak it every once in awhile like rain would do.... but not all the time. Mind you it doesn't dry out indoors like it would outside with sun and wind.