Return to the Name That Plant Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can anyone help

Posted by Garden_novice1 none (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 16, 14 at 8:15

I am new to gardening and have this growing in my garden. I would appreciate it if anyone can tell what it is and anything about it.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can anyone help

It's ivy. Evergreen with greenish flowers followed by the berries. It can cause damage to trees and buildings as it is a vigorous grower and can become very heavy. It also anchors itself into mortar so be wary of it near walls. It does however provide year round interest and shelter for birds.

o

NB to US readers. Note that the OP and the responder are in the UK .... so no need for tirades about the diabolical invasive nature of 'English' ivy ;-) Here it is native and part of the ecosystem. The fact the berries are still there shows what a mild winter we have had. Wood Pigeons,especially, love them. And the flowers are a valuable food source for insects late in the year.

o

Hedera helix, proper name not yet mentioned here. Good catch, Flora!

o

• Posted by bboy USDA 8 Sunset 5 WA (My Page) on
    Sun, Mar 16, 14 at 12:49

Location was not posted here. I fairly often have to look at My Page in order to see where people are because they do not say in their posts.

Sometimes they don't say on My Page either.

Being obtuse tends to limit outcomes.

o

I checked their 'My Pages' to verify location because of the use of 'garden' for yard and the simple name 'ivy' without the 'English' epithet. Plus the responder noted that ivy is useful ecologically speaking and commented on the mild Winter. All that pointed me to compatriots. I don't think anyone was being obtuse. But it's true location in the body of the post is very useful to know.

o