Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

is this peonies??

jameya
10 years ago

Hello,
Last fall I got 3 starts of a peony plant and then I went to a local nursery and bought 2 more but these were actual plants, instead of root starts. Well this spring is just starting and something is coming up in the exact spot where I planted each of the peonies, but from what I have seen online I am starting to doubt that what is coming up is the peonies. As you can tell, I am new at this and trying to learn what is what, and how to get beautiful plants like I have seen on this site reading through forums and people chatting on here. Thanks :)

Comments (14)

• jameya
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Not sure how to post more then one photo at a time, but here is another picture of another of the plant

• KarenPA_6b
    10 years ago

Those plants look like daffodils. Unless I am missing something there. Peonies sprouts should look like this.

• KarenPA_6b
    10 years ago

Here is another picture

• gardenper
    10 years ago

That looks like a bunch of daffodils growing very closely together. They are already starting to have yellow leaves, so how long have they been growing already? I just ask because it's possible that with that much crowding, if they are daffodils, they haven't sent up a flower stalk but are already starting to die back. You would probably do them a favor by spreading them out more at the proper time (including now, since some people do transplant daffodils at this time without horrible results). At the time of transplant, you could probably amend the soil a bit also since we don't yet know why these are not flowering (again, assuming they are daffs)

All the pics of peonies I've seen start out with some red stems from the ground. I don't know all the peonie types so I can't say if there might be some with a different colored stem.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

peony can live decades...