Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jsf67

After splitting ? Hostas

jsf67
9 years ago

We had 4 of a plant with white and green leaves. Years ago my wife hired someone to split them into 8 plants. That worked well. Last fall she hired someone else to resplit them into 16 plants. In four of those places we got this. I can't tell if it is a different plant or just changed leaf color for some reason. In three places, we got sickly looking remnants of the original plant, which I will post next. In the other nine places, nothing.
Was the original Hostas?
Is the faster growing plant with all green leaves the same plant?

Comments (12)

• bart1
    9 years ago

I'd repost the second picture in this thread just for ease of use, because before too long the two posts will be very far apart on this board.

I'm no expert, but the other plant looks very different than this one............that one has varigated leaves (white stripes on green leaves) and this one doesn't.

Also, just an FYI, it's very easy to split hostas yourself. There's no need to hire anyone unless you are physically unable to dig a hole and use a shovel.

• jsf67
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sorry, new to the forum. I didn't initially realize I could post a photo in a follow-up. I thought I needed a second thread.

• jsf67
    Original Author
    9 years ago