Return to the Name That Plant Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Crepe Myrtle sucker?

Posted by Glitterati-GA7b none (My Page) on
Mon, May 20, 13 at 15:31

There's a crepe myrtle near this small plant which is being smothered by a white pine. I'm hoping this is a sucker growth I can move away before I hire someone to try to take out the pine. I'll probably lose the crepe myrtle when they do......the pine is just too close and has been allowed to grow too tall...

Anyway, I know they're prolific sucker producers so I've been hunting for one or two I can move to safety before I begin the pine removal.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Crepe Myrtle sucker?

whats the question???

are you asking us to confirm that this is a CM???

well.. actually them.. because i have never seen one in my cold MI life .. lol

ken

o

I'm no expert, but that actually looks more like a seedling - great to transplant, though may not be true to the parent type if that matters to you. The suckers tend to be straight shoots that don't branch that close to the ground, problem I've had with the naturally occurring CM suckers is getting enough root for it to survive.

You can promote suckers that may be easier to transplant by cutting a gap through some small roots four to eight feet out from the CM trunk. Just start digging a shallow trench and you should be able to find some suitable ones within three feet or so if it is a well established tree.

o

Certainly looks like Crape Myrtle. I don't know enough about them to say if the sucker will be the same as the parent. They may well be grafted.

o

Yes, ken_adrian, I'm trying to confirm my belief that it is a crepe myrtle.

I can't layer the original as someone has topped it out and stripped everything below 3 ft. from the top. Therefore, the only way to ensure a crepe myrtle is to move a sucker/seedling before I have the pine tree removed.

o