Return to the Name That Plant Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trying to find Plantain (herb)

Posted by Seasons9k Zone 8 (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 13, 12 at 17:43

I would really love to find broadleaf plantain in my area but Im afraid Im not having such good luck with it. I did find this plant that I cannot identify (though I am new at this). I don't think its what Im searching for but what is it? Im in South Mississippi near a large lake. This was found in the summer time in a vacant field near the lake. It only has one leaf on each shoot that comes from the root. But there are many shoots in the cluster. The roots is about as long as an unshelled peanut with tiny roots coming from it. There is a slight purple tint to the shoots or stalks and they are slightly ridged but not really square. Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trying to find Plantain (herb)

Can you share a photo of the plant you are asking about? They help us immensely in identifying plants here.

Broadleaf plantain (aka Plantago major, "white man's foot") is one of those ubiquitous plants here. Any untreated lawn here is sure to have it and so I see lots of it. It doesn't have any purple tint at all in its leaves. The ridges/veins in the leaves are quite pronounced. The veins are like tiny cords you can actually pull intact from the leaves and when you pick the leaves you can often see those little cords dangling from the stem.

FataMorgana

o

Sorry, I thought I attached it. Here is the leaf.

o

It looks like a Violet leaf to me, but I am not familiar with Mississippi plants, so I don't know if you have any Violet look-alikes down there.

o

I know it's not plantain. Could I ask why you want some? It's a pain in my flower beds.

o

Does look rather like a flattened out violet leaf - usually violet leaves are curled so they take on a more heart-like shape.