Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyphrodel

Kalanchoe

nyphrodel
10 years ago

Hello Everyone!

I have a couple of Kalanchoe that I think are pretty cool and they are very close in appearance and I was hoping one of you may be able to tell me what species they both are.

I know a lot of people here in Florida hate them because they are so prolific and they can get out of hand, but I find if you keep them in containers on a concrete lanai, you won't have problems with them "taking over". I also think they are extraordinarily beautiful plants. This first one is very symmetrical; the leaves follow straight down in a criss-cross fashion. Two opposite of each other at 3:00 and 9:00, the next two opposite each other at 12:00 and 6:00. I'm not sure what that's called, I'm an amateur, but it's beautiful, and very organized. I swear if that doesn't show you that the universe is based on numbers nothing will ;)

I'll post the next immediately following this one. Sorry this one is so grainy.

This post was edited by Nyphrodel on Sat, Jul 20, 13 at 16:50

Comments (12)

• donna_in_sask
    10 years ago

That one looks like Kalanchoe daigremontiana aka Mother of Thousands, a pretty apt description, no?

• nyphrodel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the second one. This on is more spiral as you can see. Not quite so organized.

• nyphrodel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes and here is the one they call the "Mother of Millions". Unbelievable huh?

• nyphrodel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Every leaf has TONS of baby plantlets just waiting to jump off and root themselves! Beautiful though, aren't they?

But I believe this one is the Kalanchoe Daigremontiana, isn't it? Are there any Kalanchoe experts out there?

Here is a link that might be useful: Kalanchoe Daigremontiana

This post was edited by Nyphrodel on Sat, Jul 20, 13 at 17:14

• donna_in_sask
    10 years ago